Best Places to Observe Full Lunar Eclipse in December 2010

by CajunMama

December 2010 has been an amazing month for stargazers all across the world, and especially in North America. Last week we experienced the Geminids meteor shower and this week we’ll get to observe a full lunar eclipse. If you miss this one, you’ll have to wait until April 15, 2014 to catch the next lunar eclipse visible in North America.

lunar eclipse 3/4 march
The lunar eclipse is on December 20 – 21, 2010. Here are the optimal viewing times for the different time zones in the mainland of the United States. The lunar eclipse actually begins the night of December 20th and lasts through the morning of December 21, 2010.

Best Viewing Times for Full Lunar Eclipse

2:41-3:53 AM (Dec 21) EST

1:41-2:53 AM (Dec 21) CST

12:41-1:53 AM (Dec 21) MST

11:41 PM (Dec. 20) – 12:53 AM (Dec 21) PST

Actual time of Great Lunar Eclipse

3:17 AM (Dec 21) EST

2:17 AM (Dec 21) CST

1:17 AM (Dec 21) MST

12:17 AM (Dec 21) PST

Where is the best place to observe the full lunar eclipse? Wherever you can step outside and see the moon. Hopefully, you’ll be in an area where the sky is clear enough to see this amazing event.  You can watch the eclipse if you’re on a cruise, a family vacation, or any holiday trip. Be sure to dress warmly and making even make a cup of hot cocoa for the family to sip on, no matter where you are during this holiday week as winter officially descends upon us.

Where will you watch the lunar eclipse?

Shannon Hurst Lane lives in south Louisiana and loves spontaneous road trips with her family or a solo mama getaway. She's the creator of TravelingMamas.com with a mission to inspire moms to get out there and explore our world. Google+
CajunMama
View all posts by CajunMama
Shannons website

Related posts:

{ 3 comments }

1 Sher Singh December 20, 2010 at

Someone told me that it is happening after 456 years.Is it true?

2 Mario Lugo December 20, 2010 at

I cant wait to see the lunar eclipse tomorrow morning ! i am going to get away from all the city lights and sit back and enjoy the show while sipping on some coffee. thanks for the info.

3 CajunMama December 20, 2010 at

Hi Sher – I believe the last time there was a full lunar eclipse during the winter solstice was in the 1600′s.

Mario – I hope you find a nice spot to enjoy the eclipse.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post:

Real Time Web Analytics